

FOR IMMEDIATE News Release

May 5, 2015

Contact: Susie Ryks, Volunteer Services Director

Contact Number: (605) 274-1407

2015 Spirit of Volunteerism Award Winners Announced

SIOUX FALLS - More than 530 area community leaders, non-profit agency representatives and business people turned out Tuesday, May 5, to honor the 2015 Spirit of Volunteerism Award winners. The Helpline Center hosted the event at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. During the event, 103 honorees and nominees were recognized.

The awards were made possible through the generous support of the Independent Insurance Agents of Sioux Falls, EarthBend, Children's Dental Center & Parkway Orthodontics, First PREMIER Bank/PREMIER Bankcard and Argus Leader Media. Midcontinent Communications also sponsors a commemorative program for the event. Winners of the Spirit of Volunteerism Awards in the Adult, Group and Youth Categories received a \$500 gift to be awarded to a non-profit or charitable organization serving the Sioux Empire of his/her choice.

The winners are Adult Category: Jack Dyvig; Adult Category: Lisa Griffin; Youth Category: Ashley Guthmiller; Group Category: Special Olympics of South Dakota Sioux Falls FIREWORKS Committee; Corporate Humanitarian: Arby's; Corporate Humanitarian: Capital One.

Citi also gave out the Citi Youth Leadership Awards at the event. Six high school students received \$1,000 scholarships in recognition for their community involvement.

- Kaila Kuehn, Brandon Valley High School
- Kjerstin Williams, Brandon Valley High School
- Maisie Hurd, Bridgewater-Emery High School
- Edina Begic, Lincoln High School
- Emily Wagner, Roosevelt High School
- Rebecca Vande Braak, Washington High School

The following MetaBank Volunteers of the Month were also recognized:

- June 2014, Duane Rhoadarmer, nominated by Workers on Wheels & Meals on Wheels
- July 2014, Irene Nelsen, nominated by Senior Companion
- August 2014, Dean DeLashmutt, nominated by Siouxland RSVP
- September 2014, Scot Krebs, nominated by Brennan Rock & Roll Academy
- October 2014, Nila Christensen, nominated by Active Generations
- November 2014, Carol Baum, nominated by Avera At Home Hospice
- December 2014, Deb Palen, nominated by Sanford USD Medical Center
- January 2015, Sandy Sherman, nominated by Lunch is Served, Inc.
- February 2015, Linda Albrecht, nominated by Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science
- March 2015, Sheila Sandness, nominated by Independent Living Choices, LLC
- April 2015, Virgil Bosch, nominated by American Cancer Society
- May 2015, Phil Schreck, nominated by Feeding South Dakota